Skip navigation links

March 25, 2024

Impact 89FM | WDBM-FM at MSU receives state and national awards

Impact 89FM | WDBM-FM, Michigan State University's student-run radio station and media organization, was recognized for its work with national awards in the Associated Collegiate Press Pacemaker Competition, the Broadcast Education Association Festival of Media Arts and the Michigan Association of Broadcasters’ Michigan Student Broadcast Awards.

A total of 18 student media organizations were honored in the Associated Collegiate Press Online Pacemaker Competition. Impact 89FM was the only broadcast station recognized amongst a field of their newspaper and online-only journalistic peers.

Staff of the Impact pose with a cutout microphone while accepting awards.
Staff of the Impact. Courtesy photo.

“The Pacemaker is the association’s preeminent award,” ACP Executive Director Laura Widmer said. “NSPA is honored to recognize the best of the best.”

The Pacemaker was presented at the ACP Spring National College Media Conference, in La Jolla, California on March 9, 2024. Engagement Editor Sabrina Girardi, News Editorial Assistant Maco Jeleniewski and Video Editor Ana Wagen attended the conference to accept the award.

Additionally, Senior News Producer Tessa Kresch was recognized for her audio drama Mortem Corp in the Broadcast Education Association Festival of Media Arts Student Audio Competition. She placed second in the Comedy or Drama category.

At the Michigan Association of Broadcasters’ Michigan Student Broadcast Awards, Impact 89FM took home many individual honors and scholarships. The awards were presented at the Michigan Student Broadcast Awards Luncheon in Lansing on March 18, 2024. A full list of awards is below.


Honorable Mention: How Centrism Worsens the Israel-Palestine Crisis – Maco Jeleniewski

Live Sports Coverage

Second Place: Men's Basketball: MSU vs. Duke – Zach Surdenik, AJ Evans

On-Air Personality or Team

First Place: News Time with Tessa Kresch and Rachel Fulton – Tessa Kresch, Rachel Fulton
Third Place: Exposure with Tessa Kresch – Tessa Kresch

Promotional Announcement

Honorable Mention: Top 5 at 5 Giveaway – Nicolas Flores, Andrew Miller-Thomas, Jake Rhodes

Public Service Announcement

Honorable Mention: Parking at MSU – Andrew Miller-Thomas, Nicolas Flores


Honorable Mention: Green and White Report: College Football Lookaround – Zach Surdenik, AJ Evans, Matt Merrifield

Talk Show

Honorable Mention: The Reporter Roundtable: Memorial Trees and Climate Change's Impact on Fall Foliage – Molly Wright

Use of Social Media

First Place: Impact 89FM Social Media – Rachel Kozlowski, Jake Rhodes, Impact 89FM Staff


MAB Foundation Scholarship – Rachel Fulton
MAB Foundation Scholarship – Tessa Kresch
Gary A. Reid Scholarship – Claire Bacarella
Leicinger-Biederman Scholarship (via Ross Biederman) – Maco Jeleniewski
James H. Quello Scholarship (via Karole White) – Brooke Ringstad

Work was broadcast in the Lansing area on 88.9 FM and published online through Impact 89FM's website at and social media channels.

Media Contacts