Skip navigation links

Feb. 19, 2020

Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame to induct new members

Six new members will be inducted into the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame on April 26, 2020, at the Kellogg Hotel and Conference Center at Michigan State University.

The 2020 inductees are Tom Gage, the Baseball Hall of Fame writer who covered the Detroit Tigers for the Detroit News; Wall Street Journal Pulitzer Prize writer Angelo Henderson; Arthur Horwitz, Detroit Jewish News Executive Editor and Publisher; longtime Grand Rapids Press Editor Mike Lloyd; 40+ year television reporter, producer and news director Bill Proctor; and Detroit Free Press arts reporter and music critic Mark Stryker.

The Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame was established to recognize those who have advanced the legacy of a free and responsible press and had a positive impact on journalism in Michigan. Induction memorializes extraordinary and clearly outstanding careers.

MSU’s School of Journalism has been the home of the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame since 1985, reprising the Michigan Newspaper Hall of Fame, which became dormant in 1968. The Michigan Press Association and the MSU School of Journalism established the original Michigan Newspaper Hall of Fame in 1952.

The Hall of Fame Class of 2020 will be honored at the 35th annual induction banquet on April 26, beginning with a reception at 5 p.m. Dinner and the induction ceremony will follow at 6 p.m. The date for early reservations is April 1, 2020.

Co-sponsors of the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame are the Michigan Chapter, Asian American Journalists Association; The Association of Women in Communications; Department of Journalism, Central Michigan University; Detroit Chapter of the National Association of Black Journalists; Detroit Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists; Detroit Press Club; Individual Communicators Network; Journalism Program, Wayne State University; Michigan Association of Broadcasters; Michigan Interscholastic Press Association; Mid-Michigan Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists; Michigan Press Association Foundation; and the School of Journalism, Michigan State University.

For tax-deductible sponsorship opportunities and to purchase ads in the Hall of Fame induction program, please contact Betsy DeSantis at (517) 353-6431 or email

For reservations to the induction banquet and for more information, please see the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame website.

By: Nicole Szymczak

Media Contacts