Skip navigation links

July 9, 2019

MSU faculty recognized with University Distinguished Professor title

Ten Michigan State University professors have been named University Distinguished Professors in recognition of their achievements in the classroom, laboratory and community.

The board of trustees voted on and approved the recommendations at its June 21 meeting. The designations were effective immediately.

This recognition is one of the highest honors that can be bestowed on a faculty member by the university. Those selected for the title have been recognized nationally and internationally for the importance of their teaching, research and outreach achievements.

Individuals holding the professorship will receive a stipend of $5,000 per year for five years to support professional activities in addition to their salary.

A reception to honor the newly designated University Distinguished Professors will be held on Nov. 21. Invitations will be sent early fall semester.

The newly named University Distinguished Professors are:

  • Ann Austin: Professor and associate dean for research, Department of Higher, Adult and Lifelong Education, College of Education, and assistant provost for faculty development-academic career paths 
  • Christoph Benning: MSU Foundation Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Department of Plant Biology, College of Natural Science; director, MSU-DOE Plant Research Laboratory 
  • Robin Buell: Foundation Endowed Professor, Department of Plant Biology, AgBioResearch, College of Natural Science; director, Plant Resilience Institute 
  • Christina Chan: Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, College of Engineering; professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, College of Natural Science; Institute for Quantitative Health Science and Engineering
  • Carl Davidson: Professor, Department of Economics, College of Social Science 
  • Megan Donahue: Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy, College of Natural Science
  • Robert Hausinger: Professor, Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics, College of Natural Science; professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, AgBioResearch
  • Robert Pennock: Professor, Lyman Briggs College; professor, Department of Philosophy, College of Arts and Letters; professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, College of Engineering; professor, ecology, evolutionary biology and behavior program
  • Scott Swinton: Professor, Department of Agricultural, Food and Resource Economics, College of Agriculture and Natural Resources
  • Lalita Udpa: Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, College of Engineering; Nondestructive Evaluation Laboratory 

Media Contacts