Skip navigation links

Feb. 6, 2018

Recognizing exceptional researchers, educators and community members

Ten Michigan State University faculty members will be honored for their outstanding contributions to education and research with William J. Beal Outstanding Faculty Awards at the annual MSU Awards Convocation Feb. 6.

The new honorees bring the number of faculty honored since the award was established in 1952 to 551. These 10 winners and other recipients of all-university awards will be recognized during the convocation at 3:30 p.m. at Wharton Center's Pasant Theatre. Colleagues, friends and family are invited to share the event with the awardees.

Each of the 10 William J. Beal Outstanding Faculty Award winners will be honored for a comprehensive and sustained record of scholarly excellence in research and/or creative activities, instruction and outreach. The William J. Beal Outstanding Faculty Awards are supported by the Office of University Development.

Also presented will be:

Teacher-Scholar Awards: Awarded to faculty who early in their careers have earned the respect of students and colleagues for their devotion to and skill in teaching, and whose instruction is linked to and informed by their research and creative activities. Supported by the Office of University Development.

Community Engagement Scholarship Award: Recognition of a mutually beneficial and sustained campus-community research partnership. Supported by the Office of the Associate Provost for University Outreach and Engagement.

Distinguished Academic Staff Awards: Awarded to academic specialists and MSU Extension academic staff for extraordinary achievement, excellence and exceptional contributions in advising, curriculum development, outreach, extension, research and/or teaching. Supported by the Office of University Development.

Excellence-in-Teaching Citations: Awarded to graduate teaching assistants who have distinguished themselves by the care they have given and the skill they have shown in meeting their classroom responsibilities. Supported by the Office of University Development.


Media Contacts