Published: June 11, 2018

Nairn and Cheslik earn Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Awards

Contact(s): Matt Larson Athletics office: (517) 355-2271

The Big Ten announced on Thursday the 28 honorees named Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2017-18 academic year. Lourawls "Tum Tum" Nairn Jr. of the men's basketball team and Jamie Cheslik of the women's soccer team were selected as Michigan State's honorees.

One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by his or her institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree, and two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected from each institution. All of the Sportsmanship Award winners have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these honorees must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

Read the full story at