Skip navigation links

April 18, 2017

Hanna-Attisha appointed honorary co-chair for March for Science

Mona Hanna-Attisha, an assistant professor of pediatrics in the Michigan State University College of Human Medicine and director of the pediatric residency program at Hurley Children’s Hospital in Flint, has been selected to serve as an honorary co-chair of the global March for Science event in Washington, D.C. on Saturday, April 22.

Additional co-chairs include Bill Nye, a science educator, New York Times bestselling author and the creator and host of the Emmy award-winning syndicated television show “Bill Nye the Science Guy,” as well as Lydia Villa-Komaroff, a biologist who made critical contributions to producing insulin from bacteria and is the co-founder of the Society for Advancement of Chicanos/Hispanics and Native Americans in Science.

“In Flint, the science of our water contamination was irrefutable,” Hanna-Attisha said. “As scientists and doctors we have a moral obligation to speak out in service to our communities. Likewise, the life and death implications intertwined with the science of climate change, vaccines and air pollution are moral issues. We march for science so that scientists have the freedom, like I did, to speak out, free from politicization and to continue to make the world a better place.”

The March for Science will be held around the world with more than 400 satellite marches happening globally.