Skip navigation links

June 21, 2013

MSU faculty earn University Distinguished Professor title

Nine Michigan State University professors have been named University Distinguished Professors in recognition of their achievements in the classroom, laboratory and community.

The designations, recommended by President Lou Anna K. Simon, were approved by the MSU Board of Trustees at its June 21 meeting.

This is among the highest honors that can be bestowed on a faculty member by the university. Those selected for the title have been recognized nationally and internationally for the importance of their teaching, research and outreach achievements.

Individuals holding the professorship will receive, in addition to their salary, a stipend of $5,000 per year for five years to support professional activities.

The newly named University Distinguished Professors are:

Georg Bollen, Department of Physics and Astronomy

Bruce E. Dale, Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science

Dean DellaPenna, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Sheng Yang He, Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics;

James D. Kelly, Department of Plant, Soil and Microbial Sciences

Fang Zheng Peng, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Elizabeth Simmons, Department of Physics and Astronomy

Cheryl Sisk, Department of Psychology

Rodney T. Whitaker, College of Music 

By: Tom Oswald