Published: Aug. 28, 2009

MSU announces 'Celebrate the State' football series

Contact(s): John Lewandowski Intercollegiate Athletics office: (517) 355-2271

Michigan State University athletics director Mark Hollis has outlined plans for a "Celebrate the State" football series, featuring 12 games over 10 seasons (2011-2020) against Central Michigan, Eastern Michigan and Western Michigan.

Athletic directors from the three in-state Mid-American Conference institutions - Central Michigan's Dave Heeke, Eastern Michigan's Dr. Derrick Gragg and Western Michigan's Kathy Beauregard - joined Hollis for the series announcement in the Spartan Club at Spartan Stadium.

Michigan State will play four games each against the Chippewas, Eagles and Broncos during the 10-year period.

"The state of Michigan is a great place to live," Hollis said. "In the spirit of `Pure Michigan', we strive to `Celebrate the State' with a football series that provides competition on the field while unifying people of our great state.