Skip navigation links

Feb. 19, 2024

Three MSU scholars named American Educational Research Association Fellows

Three scholars from the Michigan State University College of Education were named Fellows of the American Educational Research Association in February 2024. The recognition is a high honor, celebrating “scholars for their exceptional contributions to, and excellence in, education research,” according to an AERA news release.

The honored scholars are:

Pat Edwards smiles while wearing a red jacket in front of a green background that says Michigan State University in white.
University Distinguished Professor Patricia A. Edwards. Courtesy photo

“These three distinguished scholars represent some of the very best characteristics of a Spartan researcher; they are inclusive and innovative, and work to advance the promise of an improved future for the field of education,” said MSU Interim Provost Thomas Jeitschko. “Their research has made notable contributions to the study of education, as well as to K-12 classrooms in Michigan, across the United States, and around the world. We are proud to count them among our Spartan faculty.”

Celebrated Spartans

Jerlando F.L. Jackson.
Dean and MSU Research Foundation Professor Jerlando F. L. Jackson. Courtesy photo

Edwards is a renowned literacy and reading researcher. She explores how to promote practical, sustainable and inclusive reading and literacy instruction strategies for children. Her career includes more than $100 million in research funding and two national literacy programs. Edwards was named an MSU William J. Beal Outstanding Scholar in 2001 and a University Distinguished Professor in 2023.

Jackson is the ninth dean of the MSU College of Education. Fueled by more than 125 research publications, Jackson is committed to harnessing the transformative power of education and fostering an innovative, enriching and supportive organizational culture for faculty, staff and students to optimize their professional growth. Jackson, who became dean in 2022, is also the director and chief research scientist of the Organizational Disparities Laboratory.

Lisa Linnenbrink-Garcia smiles while wearing a tan jacket in front of a brick wall.
Professor Lisa Linnenbrink-Garcia. Courtesy photo

Linnenbrink-Garcia is a leading scholar on student motivation. She explores the development of achievement motivation in school settings, focusing on the interplay between motivation, emotions, engagement and learning, particularly in science and engineering domains. In 2023, Educational Psychology Review listed Linnenbrink-Garcia as the #2 top-producing woman scholar in her field.

The newly minted AERA Fellows will be formally honored at the AERA annual conference in April. To read more about their distinguished careers, visit the MSU College of Education website.

Media Contacts