Skip navigation links

April 28, 2022

President Stanley elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Michigan State University President Samuel L. Stanley Jr., M.D., today was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences — one of the country’s leading and most historic honorary societies.


Since 1780, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences has honored excellence and convened leaders to examine new ideas, address issues of importance to the nation and world and advance the public good. More than 13,500 members have been elected to the academy since it was formed.


“President Stanley is a leader who has championed MSU and led us through an unprecedented global pandemic, while keeping our institution focused on the aspirations of our strategic plan,” said MSU Provost Teresa K. Woodruff, Ph.D. “At the same time, he has been a leading national voice for biosecurity, science and science literacy and the ways in which higher education is a critical driver of economic development, particularly in the state of Michigan. I am delighted to welcome President Stanley into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and know he will be an active presence and continue to lead national thinking in higher education.”


Stanley is the twelfth MSU Scholar and first MSU president to be elected to the academy. He joins prestigious faculty and leaders from across MSU, some of which include Richard Lenski, John A. Hannah Distinguished Professor of Microbial Ecology – Evolutionary and Population Biology and Ecology (1998); Guy Bush, John A. Hannah Distinguished Professor of Evolutionary Biology Emeritus (2001); Douglas Schemske, John A. Hannah Distinguished Professor Emeritus (2003); Darlene Clark Hine, John A. Hannah Distinguished Professor of History (2006); Kay Holekamp, University Distinguished Professor, Department of Integrative Biology (2015); and Woodruff, Provost and MSU Foundation Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Reproductive Biology, and Biomedical Engineering (2020).


A champion for science and basic research, Stanley has testified before Congress and written op-eds on the importance of science and science literacy; workforce issues in science, science and security; the need to invest in basic research to remain globally competitive; and how to communicate the excitement and essentiality of science.


With his focus on communicating science and his expertise in infectious diseases, Stanley has helped national and international groups understand the COVID-19 pandemic and the critical importance of vaccination in protecting our communities. Additionally, he has convened several sessions on COVID-19 for the Association of American Universities and the Association for Public and Land Grant Universities. Stanley also was asked by Michigan Gov. Gretchen Whitmer to serve on the Michigan Economic Recovery Council, a key body advising the governor on how to reopen the state during the pandemic.


“We are celebrating a depth of achievements in a breadth of areas,” said David Oxtoby, president of the American Academy. “These individuals excel in ways that excite us and inspire us at a time when recognizing excellence, commending expertise, and working toward the common good is absolutely essential to realizing a better future.”


“The Academy was founded on the belief that the new republic should honor truly accomplished individuals and engage them in meaningful work,” said Nancy C. Andrews, chair of the Academy’s Board of Directors. “The Academy’s dual mission continues to this day. Membership is an honor, and also an opportunity to shape ideas and influence policy in areas as diverse as the arts, democracy, education, global affairs, and science.”


The 2022 class includes 260 other members in academia, the arts, industry, public policy and research. The complete list of individuals elected in 2022, including 37 International Honorary Members from 16 countries, is available here.

By: Dan Olsen

Media Contacts