Skip navigation links

July 18, 2022

MSUCOM Pathology Student Award winners

Class, lectures, labs, clinicals, rotations and studying are a large part of a medical student’s journey at the Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine. But it doesn’t end there. Students are also looking for opportunities to build their future career while considering how they will positively impact the health of others. The work and dedication are shown in the ways these students show up and go beyond requirements throughout that journey.

Five MSUCOM students in the joint MSU College of Osteopathic Medicine and College of Human Medicine Pathology Interest Group received awards or positions from the College of American Pathologists, American Society of Clinical Pathology and the Association of Pathology Chairs, to help further their education and career.

The 2022 MSUCOM winners are:

  • Meredith Herman, OMS4, received the College of American Pathologists 2022 Distinguished Medical Student Award
  • Basma Al-Masraf, D.O.-Ph.D., sixth year, received the Association of Pathology Chairs Society of '67 Kinney Scholar Award
  • Lauren Pelkey, OMS3, received the 2022-2023 University of Virginia Michael J. Gaffey Post-Sophomore Fellowship (medical school "Fifth Year")
  • Casey Schukow, D.O., 2022 graduate, received the American Society of Clinical Pathology 2022 Annual Meeting Travel Grant
  • Curtiss Johnson, OMS2, received the College of American Pathologists 2022 Medical Student Travel Award

“These awards and positions are among some of the highest that medical students can earn in the field of Pathology, and these students should be very proud of what they are helping build here at MSUCOM,” said Paul Kowalski, assistant professor of physiology and faculty advisor for the Pathology Interest Group.

To read about the winners, visit

Media Contacts