Skip navigation links

Feb. 17, 2022

Christoph Benning elected senior member of the National Academy of Inventors

Christoph Benning, director of the MSU-DOE Plant Research Laboratory, was elected as a senior member of the National Academy of Inventors.

Benning is among 83 academic inventors to be elected to the group in 2022. This new class of senior members consists of faculty, scientists and administrators from 41 NAI member institutions and research universities. They are named inventors on more than 1,093 issued U.S. patents.

The designation recognizes members who are proven innovators, bringing positive impact to the real world. These members demonstrate success in patenting, licensing and commercialization, as well as mentorship and education.

Benning, who is also a university distinguished professor and MSU foundation professor in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, College of Natural Science, is well known for basic research on plant lipid metabolism, including work identifying and applying the WRINKLED1 gene. For this work, he shared the 2018 MSU Innovator of the Year award with John Ohlrogge, university distinguished professor emeritus in the Department of Plant Biology.

To read more, visit

Media Contacts