Skip navigation links

Oct. 21, 2021

Distinguished Spartans to be recognized at 75th Alumni Grand Awards on Nov. 12


On Nov. 12, the Michigan State University Alumni Office will recognize Spartan alumni who positively reflect and enhance the prestige of Michigan State during the annual Alumni Grand Awards.

The program recognizes the best of the best – alumni who are doing wonderful things and making an impact daily in their companies, communities and for MSU. The 2021 recipients will be recognized during the 75th Alumni Grand Awards Gala hosted at the Kellogg Hotel and Conference Center. Additionally, due to the cancellation of the 2020 awards ceremony, the 2020 award recipients will also be honored. The program is open to all and will be livestreamed beginning at 7 p.m. for those unable to attend. 

2021 Award recipients 

Distinguished Alumni Award

Presented to Michigan State alumni who have differentiated themselves by obtaining the highest level of professional accomplishment in their field.

April Clobes | Bath, MI
CEO, MSU Federal Credit Union
B.A. Broad College of Business, 1994; M.A. College of Communication Arts and Sciences, 2000

W. Delano Meriwether | Potomac, MD
Director, U.S. Public Health Services’ National Influenza Immunization Program (retired)
College of Natural Science (attended)

Toichi Takenaka | Tokyo, Japan
Honorary Chairman of the Board, Takenaka Corporation
MBA, Broad College of Business, 1968

Alumni Service Award

Presented to Michigan State alumni who have demonstrated service to MSU and/or meritorious public service on a local, state, national or international level.

Barbara Given | Okemos, MI
University Distinguished Professor and Interim Associate Dean for Research, MSU College of Nursing
P.h.D., College of Education, 1976

Young Alumni Award

Presented to Michigan State alumni age 40 or younger who have distinguished themselves through a high level of professional accomplishment early in their career. These individuals demonstrate a commitment to MSU through outstanding continuous volunteer service on behalf of the university, and/or participation and leadership in meritorious public service on a local, state, national or international level.

Lauren Bealore | Washington, D.C.
Democracy Director, State Innovation Exchange
B.A. James Madison College, 2011

Praise Matemavi | Jackson, MS
Assistant Professor of Surgery and Attending Physician, University of Mississippi Medical Center
D.O., College of Osteopathic Medicine, 2010

Kyle Welch | Sawyer, MI
President, Chicago Scoops
B.A. Broad College of Business, 2009

Honorary Alumni Award

Presented to non-alumni candidates who have made an outstanding impact on behalf of Michigan State on a local, state, national or international level.

Patricia Merry | Williamston, MI
Executive, Global Support Practice, Ernst and Young (retired)

Philanthropist Award

Presented to individuals, families, associations, corporations or foundations with a proven record of providing major, ongoing financial support and leadership to Michigan State. Their generosity encourages others to take leadership roles in philanthropy towards MSU.

Robert and Anna Lou Schaberg | Richmond, VA
Robert: President, Amurcon Corporation
Cofounders, Bob and Anna Lou Schaberg Foundation
Robert: B.S. Broad College of Business, 1964

For the full bios of current recipients, visit

To learn more about the 75th Alumni Grand Awards Gala, visit


By: Evan Lee

Media Contacts