Skip navigation links

Feb. 3, 2020

Society for the study of reproduction honors MSU scientist

The Society For The Study Of Reproduction, or SSR, unveiled its 2020 award winners honoring seven individuals from some of the most prestigious universities in the world who have made outstanding contributions to the scientific discipline of reproductive biology.

MSU University Distinguished Professor and associate chair of research Asgi Fazleabas, from the Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Biology in the College of Human Medicine, was honored with the Carl Hartmann Award, which is the highest award given by the SSR. The award recognizes a career of research and scholarly activities in the field of reproductive biology.

Six other award recipients come from institutions including University of Michigan, Yale University and the National Cheng Kung University of Taiwan.

SSR is the world’s leading association for supporting the scientific study of reproduction by fostering interdisciplinary communication among scientists, holding conferences and publishing original, meritorious studies.

“The scientific research conducted by these seven biology scientists, physicians and professors have significantly advanced the science of reproduction, fertility and development,” said Saima Hedrick, executive director, SSR, “Their original research on a broad range of topics in the field of reproductive biology is helping lead us toward new discoveries, more mentorship opportunities and greater professionalism in the discipline. Their work has improved the lives of millions of humans and animals."

Media Contacts