Skip navigation links

Feb. 7, 2020

MSU honors global Spartans

Michigan State University International Studies and Programs has named the recipients of this year's international awards. Now in its 30th year, the international awards program celebrates contributions by MSU faculty, students and community members in international research, teaching and engagement.

“These extraordinary Spartans are being recognized not only for their individual achievements, but also for their dedication to innovation, inclusion and collaboration in their work,” said Steven Hanson, associate provost and dean for MSU International Studies and Programs. “These shared values are what makes the global Spartan community so special.”

ISP will honor the recipients during its International Awards Ceremony at 3:30 p.m. March 31 at the Huntington Club in Spartan Stadium. The event is free and open to the public.

The 2020 international awards recipients are:

Ralph Smuckler Award for Advancing International Studies and Programs at MSU

Lynn Paine
Associate dean and professor, international studies in education
College of Education

John Hudzik Emerging Leader in Advancing International Studies and Programs Award

David Ortega
Associate professor, Department of Agricultural, Food and Resource Economics
College of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Joon Moon Distinguished International Alumni Award

David Meng Kuan Poon
Eli Broad College of Business

Gill-Chin Lim Award for Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation in Global Studies

Timothy Silberg
College of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Award for Outstanding Service to Education Abroad

Vincent Delgado
Founding director, RCAH program on sustainability in Costa Rica
Residential College in the Arts and Humanities

Charles Gliozzo Award for Public Diplomacy

Beth Mugavero
Program manager, Hubert Humphrey Fellowship Program
College of Social Science

Homer Higbee International Education Award

Lisa Homeniuk
Volunteer, Community Volunteers for International Programs
International Studies and Programs

Glen Taggart Award for Community Contributions to International Understanding

Robert Lurie
Social studies teacher and department chair
Waverly High School

Special Recognition Award for Promoting International Understanding

Sarah Corner
Academic specialist, anatomic pathology
Veterinary Diagnostics Laboratory, College of Veterinary Medicine

Additional information about the awards, including descriptions of the individual award categories can be found on the ISP website.

Media Contacts