Skip navigation links

March 11, 2020

MSU broadcast affiliates win excellence awards

Michigan State University’s affiliated broadcast programs won multiple awards from the Michigan Association of Broadcasters, or MAB. The awards – which include stations of the year – were announced at the MAB’s Broadcast Excellence Awards ceremony and Michigan Student Broadcast Awards.

WKAR, a PBS and NPR affiliate station and division of MSU’s College of Communication Arts and Sciences, earned Michigan Public Television Station of the Year for 2019. In addition to the top award, WKAR won six Best in Category awards and seven Merit awards for work in radio and television broadcasting.

“This award speaks volumes about the high expectations of this community and the willingness to support WKAR’s work by volunteering, attending and contributing to events, sharing stories and making financial contributions that align with your values,” said Susi Elkins, director of broadcasting and general manager at WKAR.

For the full list of awards and more information about the station, visit WKAR.

Student Success

Additionally, student radio and television programs both earned overall and individual awards.

MSU’s student radio station, Impact 89FM, operates in the Division of Student Affairs and Services and MSU’s student television broadcast program operates out of the College of Communication Arts and Sciences, which includes the Focal Point news program, films and sports content.

It is the first time in history that both organizations received the station of the year awards in their respective categories in the same year. 

"I'm extremely proud of our student broadcasters,” said Jeremy Whiting, general manager at Impact 89FM. “They continue to produce professional, diverse content that matters to the student community at MSU and the Greater Lansing region. These awards highlight the incredibly strong broadcast program we offer."

This is the television program's second year in a row winning the award and this is the sixteenth time Impact 89FM has brought home the honor.

For a full list of awards and scholarships earned by the stations and students, see here.

By: Zach Richardson