Published: May 23, 2019

Professor recognized for commitment to honors education

Contact(s): Stephanie Cepak Honors College office: (517) 355-2326

Steve Safferman, an associate professor in the Department of Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering in the Colleges of Engineering and Agriculture and Natural Resources, is the 2019 recipient of the Honors College Award for Distinguished Contributions to Honors Students.

Since its initiation in 1999, this award recognizes outstanding contributions by Michigan State University faculty and staff to honors teaching and honors students and demonstrates a deep commitment to honors student education.

“The Honors College has given me the opportunity to work with these exceptional students,” Safferman said. “Their seeking of knowledge and work ethic are amazing. I’m really appreciative of this award and share it with all my honors students and many others on my research team.”

Safferman has mentored Honors College students through the Professorial Assistantship Program, since 2005. These students have worked on projects related to Safferman’s research and extension programs, which focus on the fate and transport of nutrients applied to agriculture land, system designs for waste to resource technologies and wastewater treatment.  

Through a lab, he offers an honors option for students taking BE 230:Engineering Analysis of Biological Systems. Additionally, he has taught, or co-taught, an Honors Research Seminar for several years focused on resource sustainability and converting wastes to resources, with community involvement and acceptance of such alternatives also emphasized.

“Honors College students at MSU are incredibly fortunate to have access to mentors like Professor Safferman,” said Cynthia Jackson-Elmoore, dean of the Honors College. “On behalf of the Honors College, we congratulate him on earning this award and thank him for his efforts to enrich the curricular and co-curricular experiences of our students.”

Steve Safferman is the 2019 recipient of the Honors College Award for Distinguished Contributions to Honors Students.