Skip navigation links

Nov. 27, 2018

Three MSU individuals named AAAS Fellows

Two Michigan State University researchers and a university communicator have been named Fellows by the American Association for the Advancement of Science. This national recognition is awarded to individuals for their efforts to advance science or its applications.

“These individuals are leaders in their respective fields and representative of the outstanding quality of work being done at MSU," said Stephen Hsu, vice president for Research and Graduate Studies. "Their creation and dissemination of new knowledge is having an important impact on society today, and for years to come."

MSU’s new AAAS Fellows are:

  • Federica Brandizzi, MSU Foundation Professor in the College of Natural Science: For distinguished contributions to the field of plant cell biology, particularly for the characterization of the endoplasmic reticulum and the Golgi apparatus, organelles pivotal to food production in plant cells. 
  • Remco Zegers, associate director for experimental nuclear physics in the National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory: For distinguished contributions to the fields of nuclear science and nuclear astrophysics, particularly for determination of weak interaction rates inferred from heavy-ion collisions. 
  • Sue Nichols, strategic communicator in the Center for Systems Integration and Sustainability: For distinguished contributions to science communication across disciplines and across the globe, particularly for groundbreaking work to integrate communication practices with research endeavors.

AAAS named 416 new fellows and will honor them on Feb. 16 during the 2019 AAAS annual meeting in Washington, DC. For a complete list of MSU AAAS Fellows, visit