Skip navigation links

April 13, 2018

MSU wins four top awards from Department of Energy

Four Michigan State University students earned DOE Office of Science Graduate Student Research Program awards for their research in various areas of science, technology, engineering and mathematics, making MSU the most-decorated institution represented in the program.

The awardees are:

  • Jacob Calcutt
    SCGSR priority research area: experimental research in high energy physics
    Host laboratory: Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
  • JoAnn Ballor
    SCGSR priority research area: electron and scanning probe microscopy research and instrumentation
    Host laboratory: Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
  • Darian Smercina
    SCGSR priority research area: plant science for sustainable bioenergy
    Host laboratory: Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
  • Eric Young
    SCGSR priority research area: novel in situ imaging and measurement technologies for biological systems science
    Host Laboratory: Oak Ridge National Laboratory

The award allows students to spend 3 to 12 consecutive months at a DOE national laboratory conducting graduate thesis research in a priority research area in collaboration with a DOE laboratory scientist.

The award provides support for travel to the laboratory and a monthly stipend of up to $3,000 for expenses while visiting the laboratory.

By: Brandi Scarber

Media Contacts