Published: April 11, 2017

2017 Patenge Award winners announced

Contact(s): Laura Probyn College of Osteopathic Medicine office: (517) 884-3755

The MSU College of Osteopathic Medicine will recognize three distinguished leaders with its highest honor, The Walter F. Patenge Medal of Public Service, in a May 8 ceremony at the University Club. The winners, who will be recognized for their commitment to excellence in medicine, government and public service, are Sister Anne E. Brooks, Gail D. Riegle and Paul D. Stein.

Brooks, a member of the Sisters of the Holy Names of Jesus and Mary and an MSUCOM alumna, is the medical director and chief administrator of the Tutwiler Clinic in Tutwiler, Mississippi. She also serves as a staff physician at Merit Health Northwest Mississippi, clinical adjunct faculty member and Mississippi preceptor for osteopathic and allopathic medical students in the U.S. and Toronto, and a clinical instructor for nurse practitioner and physician assistant students in Mississippi, Tennessee and Alabama.

Riegle has served as the medical college’s associate dean of academic programs for more than 30 years and has been with MSU for more than 40 years. His service has included curriculum committees, advisory groups and planning committees. He has served as interim senior associate dean and has been a long-time board member and executive committee member within the Statewide Campus System—the college’s graduate medical education arm. He has also been a strong voice in osteopathic education within Michigan and beyond, in service through the Michigan Association of Osteopathic Directors of Medical Education, the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation and the American Osteopathic Association.

A professor in the MSU Department of Osteopathic Medical Specialties, Stein may be best known for his work on pulmonary embolism, where he has focused on the determination of categories of patients who might benefit from inferior vena cava filters in the prevention and treatment of pulmonary embolism. His book, “Pulmonary Embolism,” is now on its third edition.

Stein is a prolific writer and editor who has served on several journal editorial boards and as a referee for dozens more, including The Lancet, The New England Journal of Medicine and Science. He has written five books in total and has been author or co-author of 59 chapters in medical texts, with more than 500 journal articles—and counting.

Brooks, Riegle and Stein will join a celebrated group of leaders in health care, education and community service who have received past medals. The award is named for Walter F. Patenge, the first president of the Michigan Osteopathic Medicine Advisory Board.

Go Green. Go White. Go Give! 11.27.2018 - #GiveGreenDay
A new superpower on the horizon. Michigan State University scientists look to the sun to solve Earth's biggest problems. Read our paid post on the New York Times site