Skip navigation links

Jan. 26, 2016

Undergraduate STEM researchers nominated for national Goldwater Scholarship

Four undergraduate researchers studying STEM-related fields have been nominated by Michigan State University for the nationally competitive Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship.

The Goldwater Foundation seeks scholars committed to a career in science, mathematics or engineering who display intellectual intensity and who have the potential for significant future contribution in their chosen field. MSU has produced 42 Goldwater Scholars since the scholarship program was established by Congress in 1986.

The scholarship provides funding for undergraduate tuition and living expenses.

The four MSU nominees are: Honors College junior Laura Azouz, who is majoring in chemical engineering in the College of Engineering; Honors College junior Kiera Fisher, who is majoring in biomedical laboratory science in the Lyman Briggs College; Honors College junior Thomas Grubb, who is majoring in mathematics, advanced in the College of Natural Science and economics in the College of Social Science; and Honors College junior Hananiel Setiawan, who is majoring in physics in the College of Natural Science.

The National and International Fellowships and Scholarships Office, administered by the Honors College, helps interested undergraduate and graduate students to pursue major national and international opportunities by providing information and direct support throughout the competitive application processes.

“The opportunity to conduct research that these undergraduates have been given is key to preparing them for their chosen careers in science and engineering,” said Cynthia Jackson-Elmoore, dean of the MSU Honors College. “Michigan State University is proud to nominate these exceptional students for the Goldwater Scholarship.”

More information on the nominees can be found on the Honors College website.