Skip navigation links

Nov. 24, 2014

Three MSU scientists named AAAS Fellows

This year, three Michigan State University scientists were named AAAS Fellows by the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

This national recognition is awarded to researchers for their efforts to advance science or its applications.

"Our researchers, utilizing their great creativity and expertise, are solving some of the world’s most-vexing problems,” said MSU Vice President for Research and Graduate Studies Stephen Hsu. “These individuals are leaders in their disciplines and represent the outstanding quality of work done at MSU."

MSU’s AAAS Fellows are:

  • Christoph Benning, professor of biochemistry and molecular biology
  • Lee Kroos, professor of biochemistry and molecular biology
  • Barbara Schneider, John A. Hannah Chair and Distinguished Professor in the College of Education and Department of Sociology

Benning is being honored for his distinguished contributions to the field of plant biochemistry, particularly the study of plant lipids and the enzymes and genes responsible for lipid biosynthesis.

Kroos has been selected for his seminal contributions to the understanding of developmental regulation in bacteria Bacillus subtilis and Myxococcus xanthus, and distinguished mentoring and service to the scientific community.

Schneider is being heralded for her distinguished contributions to the fields of sociology and education, particularly for advancing knowledge of children's socialization and development, and evaluating educational policy and success.

This year, 401 members have been awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. New fellows will be honored on Feb. 14 during the 2015 AAAS conference in San Jose, Calif.

By: Layne Cameron