Published: June 20, 2013

MSU Innovation Center recognizes inventors and inventions

The MSU Innovation Center recognizes the Innovation of the Year, Innovator of the Year and Tech Transfer Achievement Award winners.

This year’s winners are:

• Norbert Mueller
• Marcos Dantus
• Donald Penner

Mueller won the Innovation of the Year award. Mueller is an associate professor in the mechanical engineering department. He invented the Woven Turbomachine Impeller. The woven impeller may be used in compressors and turbines. It uses a bundle of fibers woven together into a lightweight, high-strength form.

The 2013 Innovator of the Year is Dantus. He is a professor in the chemistry department. Dantus’ research in ultra-short pulse lasers and their applications resulted in 37 invention disclosures submitted to MSU Technologies since 1994. Dantus currently has 14 US patents, 22 US patent applications and several foreign filings.

Penner won the 2013 MSU Technology Transfer Achievement Award. Penner is a professor in the plant, soil and microbial substances department. Penner developed a system to delay the appearance of resistant weeds and allows farmers to apply fewer herbicides.

The winners were presented with plaques and cash prizes.

MSU professors Donald Penner, Norbert Mueller and Marcos Dantus pose with their MSU Innovation Center awards. Photo by Matt Hallowell

Our Commitment: Healing Assistant Fund - National organizations selected to oversee fund for counseling and services