Skip navigation links

Feb. 5, 2013

Faculty, staff and others to be honored with university awards

Ten Michigan State University faculty members will be honored for their outstanding contributions to education and research with Distinguished Faculty Awards at the annual MSU Awards Convocation Feb. 12.

The new honorees bring the number of faculty honored since the award was established in 1952 to 501. These 10 winners and other recipients of all-university awards will be recognized during the convocation at 3:30 p.m. at Wharton Center's Pasant Theatre. Colleagues, friends and family are invited to share the event with the awardees.

MSU President Lou Anna K. Simon will congratulate the honorees at the ceremony and salute their contributions to the university's excellence. Simon also will take a few minutes to acknowledge MSU's Founders Day in her 2013 State of the University address.

Each of the 10 Distinguished Faculty Award winners will be honored for a comprehensive and sustained record of scholarly excellence in research and/or creative activities, instruction and outreach.

Also presented will be:

Distinguished Academic Staff Award: Awarded to academic specialists and MSU Extension academic staff for extraordinary achievement, excellence and exceptional contributions in advising, curriculum development, outreach, extension, research and/or teaching. Supported by the MSU Development Fund.

Teacher-Scholar Award: Awarded to faculty who early in their careers have earned the respect of students and colleagues for their devotion to and skill in teaching and who have shown scholarly promise. Supported by the MSU Foundation.

Outreach Scholarship Community Partnership: Recognition of a mutually beneficial and sustained campus-community research partnership. Supported by the MSU Quality Fund.

Excellence-in-Teaching Citation: Awarded to graduate teaching assistants who have distinguished themselves by the care they have given and the skill they have shown in meeting their classroom responsibilities. Supported by MSU Foundation.

Robert F. Banks Award for Institutional Leadership: Awarded to a member of the faculty, academic staff, or support staff in recognition of extraordinary and sustained institutional leadership that advances MSU’s commitment to connectivity, quality and inclusion.

Broadcasting Services will provide cable and online coverage of the convocation. Those on campus can tune into channel 4; those with Comcast in East Lansing and Meridian Township can tune into channel 29; and those with AT&T U-Verse PEG can tune into channel 99 where available. There will be a link to the live stream at