Skip navigation links

Feb. 6, 2013

Campus diversity awards to be presented Feb. 15

The Michigan State University 2013 Excellence in Diversity Awards will be presented to individuals and groups who have exemplified diversity and inclusion in extraordinary ways at the All-University Excellence in Diversity Recognition and Awards Ceremony and Reception Feb. 15.

Recipients of the MLK Jr. Advancing Inclusion through Research Award, International Student Essay Competition and Artistic Expression also will be recognized at the convocation held at 4 p.m. at Kellogg Hotel and Conference Center’s Big Ten Room A.

Following is the list of recipients.

Emerging Progress Award
Farha Abbasi, assistant professor, Department of Psychiatry
Scott Bustabad, doctoral student, Department of Physics

Sustained Effort Toward Excellence in Diversity
Cori Fata-Hartley, assistant professor, Lyman Briggs College and College of Natural Science

Excellence in Advancing Global Competency
David Clauson, senior, Residential College in the Arts and Humanities and College of Arts and Letters

Lifetime Achievement
William Anderson, assistant professor, College of Osteopathic Medicine
Patricia Lowrie, assistant to the dean, College of Veterinary Medicine

Excellent Progress Toward Advancing Diversity Within Community
Native American and Hispanic Business Students

Students Making a Difference Through Artistic Expression
Capelle Gabriel, sophomore in apparel and textiles
Erin O’Connor, senior in psychology
Haobing Zhu, doctoral student in music performance

The Office for Inclusion and Intercultural Initiatives coordinates the annual Excellence in Diversity Awards.