Skip navigation links

Aug. 25, 2010

MSU names 18 ADS/UDS scholarship winners for 2010

EAST LANSING, Mich. -- Eighteen high school graduates from throughout the country have been named Michigan State University's newest Alumni Distinguished Scholars and University Distinguished Scholars for 2010.

The scholarships, which are considered among the most competitive awards in the country, are valued at about $90,000 for in-state students and $150,000 for out-of-state students. They cover full tuition, room and board, books and a stipend for up to eight semesters of study.

All students are members of MSU's Honors College.

Alumni Distinguished Scholars:

• Whitney Benson, Independence, Minn.
• Allison Bratzel, Wheaton, Ill.
• Michael Caldwell, Towson, Md.
• Kayla Felger, Fort Wayne, Ind.
• Karin Hanisch, Ripon, Wis.
• Samantha Herzing, Battle Creek
• Mari Isa, Ann Arbor
• Shan Kothari, Canton Township
• Ben Malburg, Ludington
• Riley Marshall, Lexington, Ky.
• Sydney Moroney, Loveland, Ohio
• Craig Pearson, Bloomfield Township
• Hannah Selig, Holland
• Sarah Smaga, Franklin
• Grayson Wright, Newtown, Pa.

University Distinguished Scholars:

• David Crouse, Ponder, Texas
• Adam Liter, Eden Prairie, Minn.
• Michael Malloy, Minnetonka, Minn.

Alumni Distinguished Scholars were selected from more than 1,100 of the top high school seniors who applied to MSU and took an intensive general knowledge exam in February. They were then selected by a committee composed of faculty and administrators based on the results of the exam, high school programs and achievements, other standardized test scores and interviews with the finalists.

University Distinguished Scholars were chosen from an MSU applicant pool based on academic records, accomplishments and interviews with the finalists. Students were selected by the director of admissions and dean of the Honors College on the basis of their high school programs, achievements and standardized test scores.

For more information about the scholarships, visit the Honors College or the Office of Admissions. For profiles of the scholars visit MSU News