Published: July 9, 2009

MSU faculty earn University Distinguished Professor title

Contact(s): Tom Oswald Communications and Brand Strategy

EAST LANSING, Mich. – Ten Michigan State University professors have been named University Distinguished Professors in recognition of their achievements in the classroom, laboratory and community.


The designations, recommended by President Lou Anna K. Simon, were approved by the MSU Board of Trustees at its June meeting.

This is among the highest honors that can be bestowed on a faculty member by the university. Those selected for the title have been recognized nationally and internationally for the importance of their teaching, research and public service achievements.

Individuals holding the professorship will receive, in addition to their salary, a stipend of $5,000 per year for five years to support professional activities.

The newly named University Distinguished Professors are:  

  • Michael Allen, Department of Animal Science
  • Pamela Fraker, Departments of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; Food Science and Human Nutrition
  • Thomas Glasmacher, Department of Physics and Astronomy; National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory
  • Kay Holekamp, Department of Zoology; Ecology, Evolutionary Biology and Behavior Program
  • Ellen Ernst Kossek, School of Labor and Industrial Relations
  • Nigel Paneth, Department of Epidemiology
  • Mark Reckase, Department of Counseling, Educational Psychology and Special Education
  • G. Philip Robertson, Department of Crop and Soil Sciences; Kellogg Biological Station
  • Satish Udpa, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Suzanne Wilson, Department of Teacher Education