Published: June 5, 2019

2020 College Football Hall of Fame ballot features two Spartans, former coach

Contact(s): Matt Larson Athletics office: (517) 355-2271

Two former Michigan State All-Americans — offensive tackle Flozell Adams and placekicker Morten Andersen — along with former Spartan head coach Darryl Rogers are featured on the National Football Foundation's 2020 (Football Bowl Subdivision) ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame.

In addition, former Spartan Gideon Smith, the first African-American to play intercollegiate athletics at MSU and a three-year letterwinner from 1913-15, is on the ballot for the third time in the divisional coaching category. Smith coached at Hampton University from 1921-40 and led the Pirates to the 1922 Black College National Championship.