Published: April 12, 2017

MSU Music unleashes the Piano Monster

Contact(s): Kathleen Adams College of Music office: (517) 353-9958

The Michigan State University College of Music presents the “Piano Monster” concert at 3 p.m. Saturday at the MSU Auditorium Fairchild Theater.

The concert will feature four pianos on one stage for a wall of sounds and is the final installment in this year’s MSU Federal Credit Union Showcase Series.

The concert will showcase four College of Music piano faculty artists Panayis Lyras, Deborah Moriarty, Derek Polischuck and Zhihua Tang.

The program includes:

  • Brahms- Academic Festival Overture, Op. 80
  • Bach- Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring (Chorale from Cantata No. 147)
    • Aria (from Orchestral Suite No. 3)
    • Sheep May Safely Graze (Aria from Cantata No. 208)
  • Wagner- Tannhauser Overture
  • Holst- The Planets: Venus and Mars
  • Grieg- Peer Gynt Suite No. 1, Op. 46
  • Sousa- Stars and Stripes Forever

Tickets are $20 for adults, $18 for seniors (age 60 and older) and $10 for students with ID and anyone under 18. Tickets can be purchased online, at the College of Music box office, by calling 517-353-5340, in person, or at the door.

Visit here for more information.

Piano Monster concert 2016. Photo by Harley Seeley

Our Commitment: Healing Assistant Fund - National organizations selected to oversee fund for counseling and services