Published: Feb. 6, 2014

Three MSU students nominated for Truman Scholarship

Contact(s): Stephanie Cepak Honors College office: (517) 355-2326, Cynthia Jackson-Elmoore Honors College office: (517) 35-2326

Three student leaders at MSU have been nominated for the Harry S. Truman Scholarship.

The scholarship recognizes college juniors with exceptional leadership potential who are interested in pursuing careers in public service. The nominees can be found below.

Joel Arnold

  • Majoring in social relations and policy and urban and regional planning in James Madison College and the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources
  • Graduate of Davison High School in Davison, Mich.

Jolisa Brooks

  • Majoring in political theory and constitutional democracy in James Madison College and Honors College
  • Graduate of Renaissance High School in Detroit  

Sean Fitzpatrick

  • Majoring in interdisciplinary studies in social science and arts and humanities in the College of Social Science, the Residential College in the Arts and Humanities and Honors College 
  • Graduate of Canton High School from Plymouth, Mich.

“All three of these students are passionate about public service,” said Cynthia Jackson-Elmoore, dean of the MSU Honors College. “Michigan State University has given them the opportunity to explore their passions and we are pleased to nominate them for the Truman Scholarship. We look forward to seeing what each one will accomplish next.”

MSU has previously produced 16 Truman Scholars.

Our Commitment: Healing Assistant Fund - National organizations selected to oversee fund for counseling and services